Josh Ritter On Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "To the Dogs or Whoever"
  • "The Temptation of Adam"
  • "Girl in the War"
  • "Monster Ballads"
  • "Right Moves"
  • "Empty Hearts"
Josh Ritter

hide captionJosh Ritter has released five albums in seven years.

Brian Blauser

A literary bent informs Idaho native Josh Ritter's clever, imaginative story-songs. His latest record, The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter, was released in 2007 and popped up on several year-end "best of" lists.

Ritter independently released his first two albums and saw a record label fold underneath him before breaking through, first in Ireland and then in the U.S. Ritter's touring band features mostly players from the Conquests sessions, including producer and multi-instrumentalist Sam Kassirer on piano and keyboards, Zack Hickman on bass, Austin Nevins on electric guitar and Liam Hurley on drums.

He dedicates the mystical "Girl in the War" to one of his songwriting mentors, Loudon Wainwright III, who had appeared on the stage only moments before this Mountain Stage set.

Purchase Featured Music

Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter

Purchase Music


Purchase Featured Music

  • Album: Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter
  • Artist: Josh Ritter
  • Label: V2
  • Released: 2007



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.