Mike Doughty On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/122453477/122402861" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Navigating by the Stars at Night"
  • "Circles"
  • "40 Grand in the Hole"
  • "(I Keep On) Rising Up"
  • "Nectarine (Part Two)"
  • "(You Should Be) Doubly (Gratified)"
  • "I Want to Burn You Down"
  • "Looking at the World From the Bottom of a Well"

Formerly the frontman of the jazzy experimental rock band Soul Coughing, singer-songwriter and guitarist Mike Doughty cut his first solo record, Skittish, while that group was still together. Soul Coughing disbanded in 2000, but Doughty's 2005 album Haughty Melodic spawned his hit "Looking at the World Through the Bottom of a Well."

"Nectarine (Part Two)," "Rising Up" and "Doubly" are from his latest release, Sad Man Happy Man, which builds upon his rhythmic song catalog. Here, Doughty performs with his longtime touring partner, cellist Andrew "Scrap" Livingston.

This Mountain Stage concert originally aired on January 11, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from