Gene Watson On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Love In the Hot Afternoon"
  • "Paper Rosie"
  • "A Taste of the Truth"
  • "Fourteen Carat Mind"
  • "Farewell Party"
  • "The Lonesome Road" (performed by Bob Thompson)

Hit country singer Gene Watson has been recording for nearly 40 years now. Since the beginning of his career, he has had multiple hits, including "Paper Rosie," "Farewell Party," and "Love in the Hot Afternoon," all included here with Watson's Farewell Party Band.

In 2009, Watson released his 33rd album, A Taste of the Truth, out on Shanachie Records. Fellow artists Alison Krauss, Trace Adkins, and Rhonda Vincent make guest appearances.

Mountain Stage pianist Bob Thompson finishes this segment with an instrumental rendition of "The Lonesome Road."

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published Oct. 20, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor