Lizz Wright On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • “Coming Home”
  • “In From the Storm”
  • “Hit the Ground”
  • “I Remember, I Believe”
  • “Walk”

Lizz Wright grew up in Georgia and began singing gospel music at a young age. While her previous albums have showcased her ability to sing in multiple styles — jazz, blues, and soul — her latest, Fellowship, finds her going back to her gospel roots. She continues her collaboration with singer-songwriter Toshi Reagon, who co-wrote many of the tracks on her previous record, The Orchard. Reagon's mother, Bernice Johnson Reagon of Sweet Honey in the Rock, wrote the powerful spiritual "I Remember, I Believe," included here.

Accompanied by Nicholas D'Amato on bass, Robin Macatangay on guitars and Brannen Temple on drums, Wright brings a powerful performance to the stage with her rendition of Jimi Hendrix's "In From the Storm." She also sings "Hit the Ground," a co-write with Toshi Reagon and Jesse Harris.

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published Oct. 25, 2010.

Featured Artist



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.