The Hold Steady On Mountain Stage

Listen To The Show

26 min 18 sec

Watch The Interview With Craig Finn From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Sweet Part of the City"
  • "Barely Breathing"
  • "We Can Get Together"
  • "Separate Vacations"
  • "The Weekenders"
  • "Chips Ahoy"

Brooklyn-based rock band The Hold Steady released its fifth album, Heaven is Whenever, this year to much acclaim. The group performs an acoustic set for its first appearance on Mountain Stage, featuring songs from Heaven plus "Chips Ahoy" from 2006's Boys & Girls in America.

"We Can Get Together" is about "the joy we have every night when we get to gather people together who love music in some way," frontman and lyricist Craig Finn says. Performing alongside Finn is Tad Kubler on guitar and vocals, Steve Selvidge on guitar and vocals, Babby Drake on drums, Galen Polivka on percussion and Dan Neustadt on piano.

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published Nov 8, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.