Crooked Still On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview With Aoife O’Donovan From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Calvary"
  • "Half of What We Know"
  • "Henry Lee"
  • "Cold Mountains"
  • "The Golden Vanity"

Mining songs of old — like "Henry Lee," taken from a Peggy Seeger recording — and adding its own invigorating stamp has become acoustic group Crooked Still's defining characteristic. In its fourth appearance on Mountain Stage since hitting the road six years ago, the group performs songs from its fourth studio album, Some Strange Country.

Founding members Aoife O'Donovan (vocals), Gregory Liszt (banjo) and Corey DiMario (bass) are joined by the group's newest members, Tristan Clarridge (cello) and Brittany Haas (fiddle), who have appeared on the last two Crooked Still albums and its Live release.

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published Nov 9, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor