The Weepies On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Somebody Loved"
  • "I Was Made For Sunny Days"
  • "Can’t Go Back Now"
  • "They’re In Love"
  • "Be My Thrill"
  • "Nobody Knows Me At All"
  • "The World Spins Madly On"
  • "Please Speak Well of Me"

Husband and wife duo Deb Talan and Steve Tannen took some time off from the road to start their family a few years ago. Now, they've returned with their strongest collection yet, Be My Thrill, a showcase of the pair's bright arrangements, shining melodies and heartfelt lyrics. Both singer-songwriters in their own right, the pair met at a Cambridge, Mass. folk club where Talan went to see Tannen perform.

The selection of songs The Weepies performs on Mountain Stage ranges from new cuts from Be My Thrill as well as favorites from their past records. "Somebody Loved" appears on their 2004 debut Happiness, while "World Spins Madly On" and "Nobody Knows You At All" originally appear on their 2006 release Say I Am You. "Can't Go Back Now" is a selection from their 2008 record, Hideaway.

This performance originally aired on December 20, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from