Anais Mitchell On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Wedding Song"
  • "Why We Build the Wall"
  • "Our Lady of the Underground"
  • "Flowers (Eurydice’s Song)"
  • "How Long?"

Anais Mitchell had just begun working on Hadestown, her folk-opera adaptation of Orpheus and Eurydice, when she made her first appearance on Mountain Stage in 2007. Mitchell teamed up with producer and arranger Michael Chorney to compose a modern version of the myth, set in what Mitchell calls a "post-apocalyptic, American depression-era company town."

Toting a violin, cello and trombone, Mitchell sang the multiple parts herself during this performance that on record are rendered by folk luminaries like Greg Brown, Ani DiFranco, Justin Vernon and Ben Knox Miller of The Low Anthem.

Joining Mitchell on the stage are Chorney (guitar), Robinson Morse (bass), Geza Carr (drums), Adam Moss (viola), Nelson Caldwell (cello) and Eli Chalmer (trombone).

This segment originally aired on January 12, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from