Harper Simon On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/126057633/125817346" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
Harper Simon performed on Mountain Stage.

Harper Simon performed on Mountain Stage. Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage hide caption

itoggle caption Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "I Ain't Got No Home"
  • "The Shine"
  • "Wishes and Stars"
  • "Berkeley Girl"

Harper Simon is by no means a newcomer to the music business — his father is Paul Simon and he's performed with Edie Brickell in The Heavy Circles. In this Mountain Stage visit, Simon performs songs from his self-titled debut album, which came out in 2009. Simon enlisted Bob Johnston, producer of many landmark records (Bob Dylan's Nashville Skyline and Simon & Garfunkel's Sound of Silence, among many others), and a crack team of studio musicians, which included West Virginia-born harmonica master Charlie McCoy.

Simon begins with Woody Guthrie's "I Ain't Got No Home," before touching on three tracks from Harper Simon. While the album features vast production and large-scale band recordings, Simon is heard here in a solo acoustic performance highlighting his delicate voice.

This segment originally aired April 16, 2010.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.