Old 97's On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/134988631/134856672" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "The Grand Theatre"
  • "Won't Be Home"
  • "Champaign, Illinois"
  • "Barrier Reef"
  • "You Were Born To Be In Battle"
  • "Every Night Is Friday Night"
  • "Please Hold On While the Train Is Moving"
  • "Overjoyed"

The songs from Old 97's eighth studio album, The Grand Theater, Volume One, find their origin in a week-long residency the band took up at Sons of Hermann Hall in Dallas, Texas. After trying out new material in a simulated concert environment, the band took its favorite tunes back to an Austin studio for recording. A second collection, Volume Two, is due out later this year.

From its humble beginnings as a Dallas bar band, Old 97's became a pioneer of the alternative country movement in the 1990s. For singer Rhett Miller, bassist Murray Hammond, guitarist Ken Bethea and drummer Phillip Peeples, this was their first visit to Mountain Stage as a group, and the second for Miller, who first appeared on the show in 2006 in support of his solo album, The Believer.

Mountain Stage pianist Bob Thompson rounds out this segment with his rendition of Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed."

This segment originally aired on March 31, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor