Lucinda Williams On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "I Don't Know How You're Living"
  • "Everything Has Changed"
  • "World Without Tears"
  • "Born To Be Loved"
  • "Blessed"
  • "Joy"

Lucinda Williams first performed on Mountain Stage in 1989, a full 10 years after releasing her debut Ramblin'. Heard here in her fifth appearance, she brings songs from her highly anticipated latest release Blessed.

Williams first industry recognition came in 1993 as the writer of "Passionate Kisses," which won a Grammy for "Country Song of the Year," recorded by Mary Chapin Carpenter. In 1998, she broke through as a recording artist with Car Wheels on a Gravel Road, an album that netted her another Grammy and is widely hailed as a high-water mark in the broadly defined genre of Americana music.

Williams has released five studio albums since then, the most recent being Blessed. Armed only with an acoustic guitar, she plays four songs from that new release, as well as "Everything Has Changed" from the album West, and the title track from World Without Tears. She closes with "Joy," the raucous crowd pleaser from Car Wheels.

This performance originally aired on April 18, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor