The Jayhawks In Concert

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
The Jayhawks. i

The Jayhawks. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist
The Jayhawks.

The Jayhawks.

Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • "Wichita"
  • "Guilder Annie"
  • "Miss Williams"
  • "Take Me With You"
  • "She Walks"
  • "Black-Eyed Susan"
  • "Real Light"
  • "Over My Shoulder"
  • "I'd Run Away"
  • "Blue"

At the core of The Jayhawks' alt-country sound is the paired talent of Gary Louris and Mark Olson. These guys have it all: impeccable guitar runs, smooth harmonies and tremendous songwriting.

Formed in Minneapolis in 1985, the band perfected its folk-rock style with loads of local gigging. Drawing inspiration from Gram Parsons, the Louvin Brothers, Tim Hardin and Bob Dylan, The Jayhawks released an eponymous debut in 1986. Soon, the band's Americana sound could be heard all over the Twin Cities.

The Jayhawks' big breakthrough came with Hollywood Town Hall, which appeared on the top of many critics' best-of lists in 1991. From then on, despite an evolving lineup, The Jayhawks released a stream of acclaimed albums until taking an unofficial hiatus in 2005.

The band will release a new album in September called Mockingbird Time, and you can hear some of its songs during this live set at The Queen in Wilmington, Del., part of the 11th annual NON-COMMvention radio conference.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from