KCRW Presents: Wild Nothing


Set List

  • "Golden Haze"
  • "Confirmation"
  • "The Witching Hour"
  • "Our Composition Book"
  • "Your Rabbit Feet"
  • "Live in Dreams"
  • "Velocity Girl"
  • "Summer Holiday"

Wild Nothing's shimmery, 1980s-inspired electro-pop was on full display when the band stopped by our studios for a live session. A few words come to mind when I hear this music; to name two, it's undeniably dreamy and nostalgic. It doesn't invoke any particular time, but it generally creates a reflective mood as its music washes over you.

Frontman Jack Tatum — who names The Wake, Cocteau Twins and Go-Betweens as early influences on his musical style — treated us to songs off his band's debut EP and LP. Wild Nothing showed a confidence that can only be developed through constant touring, which makes this a set worth revisiting.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.