SXSW 2007: Ghostland Observatory

Recorded Live on March 14, 2007, Produced by KEXP


  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
Ghostland Observatory

Ghostland Observatory. Photo: Doron Gild hide caption

itoggle caption Photo: Doron Gild

Set List

  • "Silver City"
  • "Rich Man"
  • "Sad Sad City"
  • "Midnight Voyage"
  • "Free Hot Lover"

Ghostland Observatory is a duo, made up of singer Aaron Behrens and producer/drummer Thomas Turner. Formed to indulge a love of rock 'n' roll, the band blends new-wave electronics, danceable beats, disco guitars and Behrens' uncompromising vocals for a sound that recalls Daft Punk and The Clash in equal measure. With a vocal presence not unlike that of Freddie Mercury, there's a grand sense of ridiculousness about Ghostland Observatory — but it's a fun ridiculousness that knows how to party.

Seattle-based KEXP presents a diverse mix of music, live performances and podcasts from indie rock and punk to jazz and old school soul.

Related NPR Stories



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.