SXSW 2007: Beirut

Recorded Live on March 16, 2007, Produced by KEXP


  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Beirut. Photo: Doron Gild hide caption

itoggle caption Photo: Doron Gild

Set List

  • "Island Song"
  • "Carousels"
  • "After the Curtain"
  • "Moribund"
  • "My Family Role"
  • "Elephant Gun"
  • "Sunday Smile"
  • "Closing Song"
  • "Mount Vroclai"
  • "The Gulag Okestar"
  • "Brazil"
  • "Scenic World"
  • "The Canals of Our City"

The brainchild of New York-based singer-songwriter Zach Condon, Beirut draws on a wide variety of old-world sounds. Performed without a single guitar, Beirut's sweeping music seems vaguely old-fashioned and Eastern European. Condon is only 20, which has fed the considerable hype surrounding Beirut. His rugged, world-weary voice makes last year's Gulag Orkestar sound like the results of worldly — even otherworldly — music-industry veterans.

Seattle-based KEXP presents a diverse mix of music, live performances and podcasts from indie rock and punk to jazz and old school soul.

Related NPR Stories



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.