Garland Jeffreys In Concert


  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
Garland Jeffreys.

Garland Jeffreys. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

itoggle caption Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • "Coney Island"
  • "I'm Alive"
  • "35 mm Dreams"
  • "I May Not Be Your Kind"
  • "Love Is Not A Cliché"
  • "John Lee Hooker"
  • "Wild In The Streets"
  • "Hail Hail Rock 'N' Roll"

Veteran New York City songwriter Garland Jeffreys has done it all. His discography stretches back to the 1960s, when he met Lou Reed before The Velvet Underground and played at countless Manhattan nightclubs. He's been called an edgy urban poet, the sound of New York, a confessional singer-songwriter and an explorer of the links between rock, race and rebellion. His Atlantic Records version of "Wild in the Streets" has become an anthem for skaters, and he's been featured in Martin Scorsese's documentary on blues music.

Jeffreys' new album, The King of In Between, is a fantastic blend of rock 'n' roll, reggae, blues and soul, full of poignant social commentary. He performed songs from the record at World Cafe Live on Friday, and you can listen to the entire concert right here.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.