Diego Garcia In Concert


Listen To The Show

45 min 5 sec
Diego Garcia. i i

Diego Garcia. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

itoggle caption Courtesy of the artist
Diego Garcia.

Diego Garcia.

Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • "Stay"
  • "Under This Spell"
  • "Roses and Wine"
  • "Separate Lives"
  • "Laura"
  • "All Eyes On You"
  • "Nothing To Hide"
  • "You Were Never There"

It's easy to get a little lost listening to the new material from former Elefant frontman Diego Garcia. On his recent solo debut, Laura, Garcia recounts the tiny emotional moments that make up the life of a romance. He's known for his intimate pop songs, and in "You Were Never There," one of Laura's many standouts, he more than delivers, making sad personal admissions feel universal.

Fans of Elefant's post-punk swagger ought to be pleasantly surprised with Garcia's depth and range. Whereas Elefant maximized potent guitar and funky picked bass, Laura finds Garcia surrounded by solo cello and vocal harmonies. He incorporates his Argentine background into his arrangements, which subtly fuse Spanish guitar with a more traditional folk sound.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.