John Oates On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Mountain Stage YouTube

Set List

  • "Searchin'"
  • "You Make My Dreams Come True"
  • "Dance Hall Girls"
  • "Sittin' On Top of the World"
  • "Please Send Me Someone to Love"
  • "Mississippi Mile"
  • "All Shook Up"
  • "It's All Right"

Pop-rock legend John Oates, of Hall and Oates, makes his first appearance on Mountain Stage with a collection of songs from his solo album Mississippi Mile. On the record, Oates departs from what his fans may expect, instead exploring American roots music, R&B and folk-infused blues — the sounds, he tells host Larry Groce, that first made him want to become a musician.

Backed by a crack band, Oates' raw, soulful vocals shine in a set composed of songs he calls his "musical autobiography," including R&B standards like Curtis Mayfield's "It's All Right," a minor-key reworking of Elvis Presley's "All Shook Up" and a surprisingly retooled version of the 1981 Hall and Oates hit "Dreams Come True."



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from