Blackie And The Rodeo Kings On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "If I Can't Have You"
  • "Another Free Woman Gets To Walk Away"
  • "Shelter Me"
  • "I'm Still Lovin' You"

The three core members of the Canadian roots-rock band Blackie and the Rodeo Kings have each been on Mountain Stage individually on multiple occasions, but this performance marks their first appearance on the show as a group. The band's most recent project, Kings and Queens, is built around collaborations with some of its members' favorite female singers, but here they handle all the vocals on their own, backed by the Mountain Stage band's rhythm section.

Formed when Colin Linden and Stephen Fearing set out to record a tribute to Canadian songwriter Willie P. Bennett, the two reached out to friend and former Junkhouse singer Tom Wilson to join the project. Taking its name from Bennett's 1978 album Blackie and the Rodeo King, the trio has released seven albums to date. The latest, Kings and Queens, features collaborations with Lucinda Williams, Rosanne Cash, Pam Tillis, Patti Scialfa, Mary Margaret O'Hara and others.

This show originally aired on October 18, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.