Musikanto On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage


Set List

  • "To See You One More Time"
  • "Every Which Way"
  • "No Reason"
  • "Take What You Need"
  • "False Wind"

Chicago-based singer-songwriter Musikanto makes his first appearance on Mountain Stage here. Combining elements of indie rock, folk and soul, his album Sky of Dresses has received positive attention from Paste magazine and the roots-music site No Depression.

After studying painting at the Art Institute of Chicago, Mike Musikantow left to pursue songwriting full-time, and in 2009 released his debut, Ghost Pain. For Sky of Dresses, Musikanto took a more leisurely approach in the studio, taking the time to road-test each song before committing it to tape. The result is a fusion that calls to mind the neo-folk and soul of Amos Lee or Ray LaMontagne with the melodic edge of Ryan Adams or Leon Russell.

This show originally aired October 21, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from