The David Mayfield Parade On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage


Set List

  • "What Do You Call It"
  • "The Human Cannonball"
  • "Rye Whiskey"
  • "I Just Might Pray"
  • "Breath Of Love"
  • "The Times We're Living In," performed by Julie Adams

The David Mayfield Parade opens a Mountain Stage show that was recorded in front of a sold-out audience in the border town of Bristol, Tenn./Va. A Mountain Stage veteran already, David Mayfield has appeared as a member of Cadillac Sky and Among the Oak and Ash, as well as alongside his sister, singer Jessica Lea Mayfield.

That said, The David Mayfield Parade builds on his solid roots as a bluegrass musician, combining that background with folk, rock and his trademark humor and showmanship, both of which are on full display in this Mountain Stage performance. With guitarist Wes Langlois, Shelby Means on upright bass, Kristin Webber on fiddle and drummer Joe Giotta, The David Mayfield Parade's set draws heavily from the group's self-titled album — including "I Just Might Pray," which was co-written with Jessica Lea Mayfield — and tosses in the beautiful Cadillac Sky tune "The Human Cannonball."

Mayfield is followed by Julie Adams, with her cover of Kate Wolf's "The Times We're Living In."

This show originally aired on October 27, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from