The Jayhawks On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage


Set List

  • "Cinnamon Love"
  • "Red's Song"
  • "She Walks In So Many Ways"
  • "Take Me With You (When You Go)"
  • "Black Eyed Susan"
  • "Blue"
  • "Tampa to Tulsa"

The Jayhawks' members return to Mountain Stage, recorded on the campus of Ohio University at Athens. Newly reunited with founding members Gary Louris and Mark Olson, the band brings with it a new album called Mockingbird Time.

Led by the sweet harmonies and crunchy guitars of Louris and Olson, The Jayhawks ranked among the first bands to combine elements of country, punk, folk and classic rock into a sound that would eventually be labeled "alternative country." From the beginning, the group's sound was defined by the curious morphing of Louris and Olson's unique voices into what Louris described to host Larry Groce as "a third person."

In 1995, Olson left the band, while Louris stayed on to record three more Jayhawks albums before announcing an indefinite hiatus in 2004. In 2005, Louris and Olson began playing a series of acoustic shows together, leading to their 2009 project Ready for the Flood and the reunion that produced Mockingbird Time.

This segment originally aired on November 21, 2011.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from