The Sweetback Sisters On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
The Sweetback Sisters. i

The Sweetback Sisters. Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage hide caption

itoggle caption Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage
The Sweetback Sisters.

The Sweetback Sisters.

Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Thank You"
  • "Looking For A Fight"
  • "Too Many Experts In The Barroom"
  • "Heart Of My Mind"
  • "Be Back Home Tonight"
  • "Rattled"

The Americana darlings in The Sweetback Sisters make their second appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live in Charleston, W.V. Singers Emily Miller and Zara Bode temper their love for 1950s country with swagger and enthusiasm, aided by West Virginia native and fiddler Jesse Milnes, who wrote four of the six songs the band plays here.

They start off strong with "Thank You," a tune which features the honky-tonk-ready refrain, "Someday your other lover's gonna leave you all alone." Guitarist Ross Bellenoit gives the group a roadhouse edge from start to finish, and the final song choice — a reworking of Traveling Willburys' "Rattled" — reflects The Sweetback Sisters' influences and tastes.

To achieve the appropriate throwback tones on Looking For A Fight, the band utilized vintage equipment, including an old ribbon mic its members borrowed from a local movie set, where it had been relegated to use as a prop.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.