Booker T. Jones On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "Walking Papers"
  • "Green Onions"
  • "Everything Is Everything"
  • "Time Is Tight"
  • "Hip Hug-Her"
  • "Oh Pretty Woman"
  • "Knockin' On Heaven's Door"
  • "Hang 'Em High"

Songwriter, producer and musician Booker T. Jones makes his first appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live in on the campus of West Virginia University in Morgantown. From his early work as one of the architects of the soul sound at Stax Records to the iconic tunes he cut with Booker T. & The MG's to his production work with legends like Bill Withers and Willie Nelson, it's difficult to overstate the impact Jones has had on American music.

During his Mountain Stage set, Jones plays a few of his well-known favorites, touches on his work with heavyweights like Bob Dylan and Albert King, and shares songs from his latest collaboration with The Roots, The Road From Memphis. This segment includes three songs not heard in the radio broadcast: an instrumental cover of Lauryn Hill's "Everything Is Everything" and the MG's hits "Time Is Tight" and "Hip Hug-Her," which features a hip-hop vocal solo from drummer Darian Gray.

This performance was originally published March 26, 2012.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor