Lake Street Dive On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "Hello? Goodbye!"
  • "Neighbor Song"
  • "Henriette"
  • "Let Me Roll It"
  • "You Go Down Smooth"

Fresh off its first appearance at South by Southwest, the jazz- and R&B-influenced pop band Lake Street Dive makes its first appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded on the campus of West Virginia University. Now based in Brooklyn, the members of Lake Street Dive met when they were students at Boston's New England Conservatory. Originally conceived as a "free country" project, the group eventually began to indulge its penchant for classic pop, jazz and R&B.

Featuring Mike Calabrese on drums, Mike Olson on trumpet and guitar, and Bridget Kearney on bass, jazz-schooled singer Rachael Price kicks off this set with the audacious "Hello? Goodbye!" and "Neighbor Song" before eventually settling into a cover of Paul McCartney's "Let Me Roll It." Kearney, also one of Lake Street Dive's key songwriters, previously appeared on Mountain Stage in 2011 with her other band, the bluegrass-inspired Joy Kills Sorrow.

This performance was originally published March 28, 2012.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from