Van Dyke Parks On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watch Mountain Stage's Larry Groce interview Van Dyke Parks.


Set List

  • "Jump"
  • "Opportunity"
  • "Come Along"
  • "I'm History"
  • "The All Golden"
  • "Orange Crate Art"
  • "Sail Away"
  • "Saving All My Love For You"

Van Dyke Parks makes his first appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens. For music fans who pay attention to album credits, Parks' name is something of a legend. As an arranger, songwriter, lyricist and musician, he's contributed to scores of famous works, from The Byrds, Sonny & Cher and Harry Nilsson to Vic Chesnutt, Little Feat and Ry Cooder. Most notable, though, was Parks' collaboration with The Beach Boys' Brian Wilson, which resulted in the storied Smile album.

Sitting behind the piano, Parks plays an assortment of baroque Americana from throughout his career, including "Come Along" (a retelling of the story of Br'er Rabbit) and "Orange Crate Art," one of many songs he wrote for Brian Wilson. Parks' first new project in 15 years is a series of seven-inch vinyl singles which feature artwork by Ed Ruscha, Art Spiegelman and West Virginia native Billy Edd Wheeler, among others.

Parks is followed by Mountain Stage Band pianist Bob Thompson, with his unique take on the Whitney Houston classic "Saving All My Love for You."

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published on May 8, 2012.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from