Patterson Hood On Mountain Stage

Listen to The Show

32 min 59 sec

Patterson Hood of Drive-By Truckers makes his second appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens. Here, Hood plays songs from his 2009 solo album Murdering Oscar, and introduces material from his forthcoming Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance.

Set List

  • Pride of the Yankees
  • Leaving Time
  • Disappear
  • Pollyanna
  • Fifteen Days
  • After It's Gone

More concise and personal than his work with Drive-By Truckers, "Pride of the Yankees" is touching portrait of post-Sept. 11 worry, while "Leaving Time" perfectly chronicles the feelings of a musician who's about leave for the road — or, for that matter, anyone whose job requires them to spend time away from their loved ones. He's backed by a six-piece band that includes three members of the Truckers, as well as Athens, Ga., music luminary David Barbe on bass. Trucker John Neff's masterful pedal-steel playing adds haunting textures to the entire set. Near the end, Mike Mills of R.E.M. makes an unannounced guest appearance to sing backing vocals in "After It's Gone," a tune Hood describes as "a love letter to downtown Athens."

This Mountain Stage performance was originally published May 8, 2012.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.