Hunter Hayes On 'Song Travels'

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
Hunter Hayes. i

Hunter Hayes. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist
Hunter Hayes.

Hunter Hayes.

Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • Hunter Hayes (guitar, voice), "Everybody's Got Somebody But Me" (Hayes, Brainard, Zuffinetti)
  • Stevie Wonder, "Superstition (excerpt)" (Wonder)
  • Hayes, "Storm Warning (excerpt)" (Hayes, Busbee, Sampson)
  • Hayes (guitar, voice), "Somebody's Heartbreak" (Hayes, Laird, Dorff)
  • John Mayer, "Waiting On The World To Change (excerpt)" (Mayer)
  • Hayes, "Love Makes Me (excerpt)" (Hayes, Baker, Elam)
  • Michael Feinstein (piano, voice), "Time After Time" (Styne, Cahn)
  • Hayes (piano, voice), "Wanted" (Hayes, Verges)

Rising young country star Hunter Hayes performed at age 4 with Hank Williams Jr. and led his first band a year later. Hayes is now a versatile instrumentalist, writer, producer and performer, with hits including "Storm Warning" and "Somebody's Heartbreak." His self-titled debut album received three Grammy nominations.

On this edition of Song Travels, Hayes joins host Michael Feinstein to discuss his musical roots in Cajun Louisiana, as well as the stories that inspired him to write his many love songs. Musical performances include his original song and first gold record, "Wanted."

Subscribe to the Song Travels Express podcast.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor