Browse Topics

Services

Programs


For immediate release
October 4, 2002
Contact:
NPR: Laura Gross,
202-513-2304,
lgross@npr.org

NPR News Presents Special Election Night Coverage Include Interactive Listener Discussion

WASHINGTON- As ballots are tallied across the country, NPR Newssm will launch special coverage of the 2002 election on Tuesday, November 5. Election 2002 will originate from Washington and Los Angeles starting at 8:00 p.m. EST/5:00 p.m. PST and will last until at least 3:00 a.m. EST/12:00 a.m. PST. If news warrants, the special coverage will continue through to the start of Morning Edition® with Bob Edwards at 5:00 a.m. EST.

The hosts of Election 2002 include senior national correspondent Linda Wertheimer and All Things Considered co-host Robert Siegel in Washington and Weekend Edition host Scott Simon and Talk of the Nation host Neal Conan in Los Angeles. NPR senior news analyst Dan Schorr will join the broadcast throughout the evening.

The program will include live listener call-ins; listeners will also be invited to send in questions via e-mail to election@npr.org.


NPR, renowned for journalistic excellence and standard-setting news, information and cultural programming, serves a growing audience of nearly 20 million Americans each week via more than 680 public radio stations. NPR Online at www.npr.org brings hourly newscasts, news features, commentaries and live events to Internet users through original online reports, audio streaming and other multimedia elements. NPR also distributes programming to listeners in Europe, Asia, Australia and Africa via NPR Worldwide, to military installations overseas via American Forces Network and throughout Japan via cable.