Our Show

New Music: Nine Inch Nails, Earl Sweatshirt, Juana Molina, More

Clockwise from upper left: Juana Molina, Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Earl Sweatshirt, The Goldberg Sisters (Adam Goldberg)

hide captionClockwise from upper left: Juana Molina, Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Earl Sweatshirt, The Goldberg Sisters (Adam Goldberg)

Courtesy of the artists

All Songs Considered co-host Robin Hilton has been feeling a little dazed and confused lately, so host Bob Boilen gives him a "sonic hug" with a new song from the Austin, Texas rock band The Octopus Project. Robin follows with a surprising cut from the first new Nine Inch Nails album in five years. NPR's Sami Yenigun brings a healthy dose of dance beats from Seven Davis Jr. and NPR Music's Frannie Kelley shares a new cut from Earl Sweatshirt, whom she calls the "strangest and most cerebral" member of the L.A.-based hip-hop collective Odd Future. Robin offers up the alluring beats and soundscapes of the former Argentinian actress and comedian Juana Molina and we close with a new cut from The Goldberg Sisters, a.k.a. Adam Goldberg, the actor and musician known for his role (among others) in the 1993 movie Dazed And Confused.

Songs Featured On This Episode

Cover for Fever Forms

The Octopus Project

  • Album: Fever Forms
  • Song: Sharpteeth

The Octopus Project is a four-piece, experimental rock group from Austin, Texas that first formed in 1999. All Songs host Bob Boilen calls it one of the best live bands he's ever seen, with a theremin player who "looks like she popped out of a 1950s magazine."


Purchase Featured Music

  • "Sharpteeth"
  • Album: Fever Forms
  • Artist: The Octopus Project
  • Label: Peek-a-Boo
  • Released: 2013
Cover for Hesitation Marks

Nine Inch Nails

  • Album: Hesitation Marks
  • Song: Everything

"Everything" is the latest single from Hesitation Marks, the first new Nine Inch Nails album in five years. Compared to the rest of the album, "Everything" is virtually a pop tune. But it still has the amazing, inimitable sounds the band's front man and songwriter Trent Reznor is known for. All Songs host Robin Hilton likens the soundscapes to a nightmare where nothing bad happens, but the mood is terrifying. Hesitation Marks is out Sept. 3.


Purchase Featured Music

  • "Everything"
  • Album: Hesitation Marks
  • Artist: Nine Inch Nails
  • Label: Sony Music Entertainment
  • Released: 2013
Cover for One

Seven Davis Jr.

  • Album: One
  • Song: One

"One" is the title track to a new EP from the L.A.-based electronic musician and producer Seven Davis Jr. NPR's Sami Yenigun says it's his "late summer jam. It should be everybody's late summer jam."

For more on this album, visit the artist's website.

Cover for Doris

Earl Sweatshirt

  • Album: Doris
  • Song: Sunday feat. Frank Ocean

Earl Sweatshirt is part of the L.A.-based hip-hop collective Odd Future, led by Tyler, The Creator. NPR Music's Frannie Kelley says Earl, who's just 19 years old, is the "strangest, most cerebral member of the group, and his album has been highly anticipated." This song was produced by Earl and Frank Ocean and features him rapping.

Cover for Wed 21

Juana Molina

  • Album: Wed 21
  • Song: Eras

Juana Molina got her start as a comic and actress in her native Argentina. She first appeared on the All Songs Considered radar back in 2000, when reviewer Tom Moon selected her fantastically textured electro-pop album, Segundo, as his number one record of the year. Wed 21 is Molina's first new album in five years.

Cover for Stranger's Morning

The Goldberg Sisters

  • Album: Stranger's Morning
  • Song: What

The Goldberg Sisters is the musical project of actor, photographer and musician Adam Goldberg, best-known for his roles in the films Saving Private Ryan and Dazed And Confused. Co-host Robin Hilton says Goldberg's latest and third full-length album is "so Beatle-y; just phenomenal harmonies and melodies and song-craft."

This album is also available from iTunes.


Purchase Featured Music

  • "What"
  • Album: Stranger's Morning
  • Artist: The Goldberg Sisters
  • Label: Burnside Distribution
  • Released: 2013



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.