courtesy of George Foster Peabody Awards

The Peabody medal. (Courtesy of George Foster Peabody Awards)

By Mark Memmott

We just got word that NPR's Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson is among the winners of the 2009 George Foster Peabody Awards for her "precise, courageous and often moving accounts" from Afghanistan.

Also being honored with Peabody Awards:

--, for "its exceptionally rich offerings." It is, the Peabody judges say, "a mature website" that is "a model for other organizations." Also, there's "a whole lot of things considered, from South Park to North Korea, (which) make this one of the great one-stop websites. And there's music you can dance to."

-- Diane Rehm, host of WAMU's nationally syndicated The Diane Rehm Show, for representing "the very best in talk radio" and putting together a show that "remains a site of truly reasonable civic discourse about issue of pressing concern."

The full list of winners is here and here. There's a webcast of the announcements here.

The other honorees include:

-- ABC News.
-- CBS-TV's 60 Minutes.
-- The BBC World Service.
-- PBS-TV's Frontline.

If you're not familiar with the awards, here's some background (and there's much more here):

"First presented in 1941, the George Foster Peabody Awards recognize distinguished achievement and meritorious service by broadcasters, cable and Webcasters, producing organizations, and individuals. The awards program is administered by the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. Selection is made each spring by the Peabody Board, a 16-member panel of distinguished academics, television critics, industry practitioners and experts in culture and the arts."

10:55 - March 31, 2010