Must Reads

Today's Total Eclipse Of The Moon: How To Watch

The reddish hue during the total eclipse that was seen from North America on Dec. 21, 2010. i i

hide captionThe reddish hue during the total eclipse that was seen from North America on Dec. 21, 2010.

Chris Hondros/Getty Images
The reddish hue during the total eclipse that was seen from North America on Dec. 21, 2010.

The reddish hue during the total eclipse that was seen from North America on Dec. 21, 2010.

Chris Hondros/Getty Images

Those of us in North America won't be able to see it happen "live," but if all goes well we can catch a webcast of what's going to be "an unusually long total lunar eclipse" today.

Basically, every continent except North America will get a view. On the timing and length, Space.com says that:

"At its peak, the total eclipse of the moon will last 100 minutes, making it the longest lunar eclipse in 11 years. ... [It] will begin about 1:24 p.m. EDT (1724 GMT) and last until 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The eclipse's peak will occur at 4:12 p.m. EDT (2012 GMT)."

Adding to the celestial drama: Spaceweather.com says "exhaust from the erupting volcano in Chile could alter the appearance of the eclipse." The moon may look darker than in other eclipses.

Now, for those who can't go out to watch, there's this option: the Sky Watchers Association of North Bengal, India, is hosting a live webcast.

Check it out:

Watch live streaming video from swansiliguri at livestream.com

Update at 12:15 p.m. ET: Our thanks to Two-Way reader Tom OToole (MickAv8r), who passes along word that "Google and SLOOH have teamed up to provide live coverage." Go here: http://eclipse.slooh.com. And there's more about that joint venture on the Google blog.

H/T to Huffpost Green.

Comments

 

Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

Support comes from: