Alaska - U.S. Senate

as of September 30

The Candidates

Photo of Lisa Murkowski

Lisa Murkowski

  • Independent (Incumbent)
  • Birthdate: May 22, 1957
  • Residence: Anchorage, AK

Full Profile

Photo of Scott McAdams

Scott McAdams

  • Democrat
  • Birthdate: October 10, 1970
  • Residence: Sitka, AK

Full Profile

Photo of Joe Miller

Joe Miller

  • Republican
  • Birthdate: May 10, 1967
  • Residence: Fairbanks, AK

Full Profile

Previous Results

    Alaska U.S. Senate (2004)

    Candidate Party Votes %
    Lisa Murkowski REP 149,773 48.6%
    Tony Knowles DEM 140,424 45.6%
    Marc Millican NON 8,885 2.9%
    Jerry Sanders ALA 3,785 1.2%
    Jim Sykes GRE 3,053 1%
    Scott Kohlhaas LIB 1,240 0.4%
    Ted Gianoutsos NON 732 0.2%

    U.S. President: Alaska (2008)

    Candidate Party Votes %
    John McCain REP 193,841 59.7%
    Barack Obama DEM 123,594 38.1%
    Ralph Nader IND 3,783 1.2%
    Chuck Baldwin ALA 1,660 0.5%
    Bob Barr LIB 1,589 0.5%

    state Election Profile

Source: Associated Press

Recent Analysis

Sep 30, 2010

Signs Of Support For Murkowski?

Polls seem to indicate that Lisa Murkowski's write-in bid is gaining support and her numbers are approaching that of GOP nominee Joe Miller. But it's one thing to tell a pollster that you will vote for Murkowski and another to actually go into the voting booth and write out her name. -Ken Rudin

New NPR Rating

Lean-R (was Safe-R)

    Sep 20, 2010

    New Cook Political Report Rating

    Lean-R (was Safe-R)

      Murkowski Faces Long Odds As Write-In

      Lisa Murkowski's decision on Sept. 17 to try and hold her seat by running as a write-in candidate has shaken up the race but has yet to affect the rating. Joe Miller, the GOP nominee, remains the favorite in a state where the only Democrat to win a Senate race in the past 35 years did so only after the Republican incumbent, Ted Stevens, was under indictment. Another bad sign for Murkowski is history: Only one person -- Strom Thurmond, a South Carolina Democrat -- has ever been elected to the Senate via write-in, and that happened in 1954. -Ken Rudin

        Sep 9, 2010

        GOP Safe Despite Murkowski Upset

        Incumbent Lisa Murkowski (R), who was appointed to the Senate in 2002 and first elected in 2004, was not expected to face any difficulty in winning another term this year. She -- and the GOP establishment -- clearly did not see the potency of the challenge offered by Joe Miller, a Gulf War veteran who first received notice when he won the endorsement of former Gov. Sarah Palin and, subsequently, the Tea Party Express.

        And when they finally did see it, they thought the correct strategy was to remind voters of Murkowski's record. Miller's argument, buttressed by a TV campaign paid for by the TPE, was that Murkowski represented the "old" ways of Alaska, of big government and handouts and fiscal irresponsibility. That "way" may have worked in the past -- Ted Stevens ran on his record of bringing home the bacon for 40 years -- but no longer. Miller won a shocking, albeit narrow victory, in the primary, a result that Murkowski didn't concede until a week later. (She is currently said to be considering a write-in effort.) The Democratic nominee is Sitka Mayor Scott McAdams. -Ken Rudin

        New NPR Rating



          About The Scorecard

          Photo of Ken RudinExplore how NPR's Ken Rudin and other influential political watchers are calling key House, Senate and governor races.

          More About This Project
          Report A Problem

          election 2010 stories