NPR Music

Support Public RadioLogin

The Checkout: Live

E.J. Strickland Project In Concert

1 of 11

View slideshow i

E.J. Strickland Project: Live At 92Y Tribeca

January 19, 2012A drummer re-scores the Stevie Wonder songbook for two singers, two saxes and a jazz rhythm section. Hear classics like "Golden Lady" and deep cuts alike reinterpreted in a live concert recording from New York.

By Patrick Jarenwattananon

E.J. Strickland doesn't often lead the band — he's the long-standing drummer for saxophonists Ravi Coltrane and Marcus Strickland (his twin brother), among other commitments. But being a percussionist, he's got big ears for many different sounds. Hence, the E.J. Strickland Project, appearing here as two singers behind a modern jazz combo; they'll play Strickland's arrangements of Stevie Wonder's all-encompassing music.

The Checkout: Live series paired the E.J. Strickland Project with the Olatuja Project in a double bill, in performance at 92Y Tribeca in downtown New York City. The concert was broadcast on air via WBGO and in an online video webcast at this page on NPR Music, with a live online chat. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit

Set List

All compositions by Stevie Wonder, arranged by E.J. Strickland.

  • "Never In Your Sun"
  • "Overjoyed"
  • "As"
  • "Make Sure You're Sure"
  • "Golden Lady"
  • "Ribbon In The Sky"
  • "Fun Day"
  • E.J. Strickland, drums
  • Charenee Wade, vocals
  • Pauline Jean, vocals
  • Jaleel Shaw, alto saxophone
  • Marcus Strickland, tenor & soprano saxophones
  • Tom Guarna, guitar
  • David Bryant, piano
  • Ben Williams, bass

Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen; Production Assistant: Michael Downes. Recorded Jan. 18, 2012 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

More The Checkout: Live

More The Checkout: Live

Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

Podcast + RSS Feeds

Podcast RSS

  • Concerts
  • The Checkout: Live