The Checkout: Live

Aaron Parks: Live From 92Y TribecaWBGO

Listen Now: Aaron Parks In Concert

What's next for a twenty-something pianist, already one of the great composers of his generation, now that he has a completely new band and repertoire for it?

Pianist Aaron Parks — once a Blue Note recording artist, and the "A" in the collective band James Farm — has been brewing up a new project. Intriguingly, Pete Rende plays analog synthesizers, making for a two-keyboard lineup with bass (Chris Smith) and drums (Marlon Browden). The band has a collection of original tunes, all relatively new; it's yet unrecorded, though when it comes time to document the stuff, Rende's experience as a recording engineer may come in handy.

On Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2011, The Checkout: Live From 92Y Tribeca paired the bands of Aaron Parks and Derrick Hodge in a double bill. The concert was broadcast on air via WBGO and in an online video webcast at this page on NPR Music, with live online chat. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit

Set List

All compositions by Aaron Parks.

  • "Dreams Of A Mechanical Man"
  • "Adrift"
  • "In A Garden"
  • "The Shadow And The Self"
  • "The Storyteller"
  • "Your Favorite Raincoat" [video highlight]
  • "Siren"
  • Aaron Parks, piano
  • Pete Rende, analog synthesizers
  • Chris Smith, bass
  • Marlon Browden, drums

Credits: Josh Jackson, producer and host. David Tallacksen, mix engineer. Michael Downes, assistant. Recorded Oct. 26, 2011 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y. Photo by John Rogers for NPR /

[+] read more[-] less

More From Jazz

Back To Top