Darcy James Argue conducts his Secret Society at the 2012 Newport Jazz Festival.

Darcy James Argue conducts his Secret Society at the 2012 Newport Jazz Festival.Erik Jacobs for NPRhide caption

itoggle caption
Erik Jacobs for NPR

Newport Jazz Festival

Darcy James Argue's Secret Society: Newport Jazz 2012




The composer Darcy James Argue has steadily been rescuing the big band from the dustbin of anachronism through a combination of enormously open ears and a gigantic well of patience. But it's paying off: After the release of his debut album Infernal Machines, the greatness of the Secret Society became an open secret, and his "co-conspirators" have now recorded a much-anticipated sophomore album. Eighteen of them give us a taste, including a peek at the Brooklyn Babylon project, originally designed for live music and live painting.

Set List
  • "Blow-Out Prevention"
  • "Sift"
  • Selections from Brooklyn Babylon
  • "Zeno"
  • "Transit"
  • Darcy James Argue, composer/conductor
  • Erica von Kleist, woodwinds
  • Rob Wilkerson, woodwinds
  • Sam Sadigursky, tenor saxophone/woodwinds
  • John Ellis, tenor saxophone/woodwinds
  • Josh Sinton, baritone saxophone/woodwinds
  • Seneca Black, trumpet
  • Tom Goehring, trumpet
  • Matt Holman, trumpet
  • Nadje Noordhuis, trumpet
  • Ingrid Jensen, trumpet
  • Mike Fahie, trombone
  • Marshall Gilkes, trombone
  • James Hirschfeld, trombone
  • Jennifer Wharton, bass trombone/tuba
  • Sebastian Noelle, guitar
  • Gordon Webster, piano
  • Matt Clohesy, bass
  • Jon Wikan, drums/percussion
[+] read more[-] less

More From Jazz

Back To Top