• Hide caption
    Arcade Fire's Win Butler, fronting the band in a live performance at Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, on Monday, Oct. 28, 2013.
    Ryan Loughridge for NPR
  • Hide caption
    Arcade Fire's concert at Capitol Studios was an exclusive performance for public radio fans, heard on stations across the U.S. and in Canada on the CBC.
    Ryan Loughridge for NPR
  • Hide caption
    Arcade Fire multi-instrumentalist (and brother to Win) William Butler.
    Ryan Loughridge for NPR
  • Hide caption
    The band performed most of its latest album, the bold, often epic Reflektor.
    Ryan Loughridge for NPR
  • Hide caption
    Capitol Studios in Los Angeles opened in 1956 in the heart of Hollywood and was famous, in part, for what was considered at the time to be a futuristic design.
    Ryan Loughridge for NPR

1 of 5

View slideshow i

Live in Concert

Arcade Fire, Live In Concert




Arcade Fire's stellar and all-too-short performance at Capitol Studios wasn't listed on the band's official tour. It was meant to be an intimate show for friends, family and public radio fans, broadcast live across the U.S. on NPR and in Canada on the CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation). The stage was cozy and the performance kept to an hour, but the members of Arcade Fire managed to run through most of the band's new double album, the bold and often epic Reflektor.

The performance came a day after the death of Lou Reed. Arcade Fire paid tribute to the much beloved artist by performing two of his songs: "Perfect Day," from Reed's 1972 album Transformer, and "Satellite Of Love," from the same album. Arcade Fire frontman Win Butler also dedicated the band's song "Afterlife," from Reflektor, to Reed.

While no encore was originally scheduled as part of the performance, a persistent and overjoyed crowd coaxed the band back on stage to end the night with "Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" from the group's 2010 album, The Suburbs.

Set List
  • "Reflektor"
  • "Flashbulb Eyes"
  • "Afterlife"
  • "It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)"
  • "We Exist"
  • "You Already Know"
  • "Normal Person"
  • "Haiti"
  • "Here Comes The Night Time"
  • "Supersymmetry" (With Lou Reed's "Perfect Day" and "Satellite Of Love")
  • "Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)"
[+] read more[-] less

More From Live in Concert

Back To Top