Front Row

Watch Miguel Perform 'Wildheart' In Concert

Miguel is a rock star. If there was any doubt about this fact, his First Listen Live performance in New York City on Tuesday provided all the proof needed.

One day after the release of his new album, Wildheart, The Los Angeles soul singer took the stage at (Le) Poisson Rouge in Greenwich Village and delivered an electrifying performance that left the capacity crowd in attendance both satisfied and in awe. Miguel and his five-piece band donned all white outfits and ran through an hour-long set that included much of his new album as well hits from All I Want Is You and Kaleidoscope Dream.

After opening with raucous renditions of "The Thrill," "Simplethings" and the romantic "Sure Thing," he took a moment to explain the concept of Wildheart to the audience: "Allow me to remind everyone how precious, how important, how vital individuality really, really is. Because at the end of the day when you look back on your life it all comes down to the moments that you were truly yourself, right? It's those moments that you'll stand by and be proud of ... that's what Wildheart is all about."

Throughout the performance he played all the roles of a consummate showman: a shirtless seducer during "P**** Is Mine" and his sultry hit "Coffee;" the playful ham as he and his band did synchronized dance steps during a brief cover of Tupac's "I Get Around" and dramatic balladeer during "Leaves" and "Waves." After titillating with "Quickie," Miguel and company left the stage as the crowd roared for more. The band obliged, returning to close the night with a medley of "How Many Drinks" and a cover of Kendrick Lamar's ""Swimming Pools (Drank)." And then, just when fans in attendance thought they couldn't get much higher, Miguel and his band launched into an extended version of his Grammy-winning-hit "Adorn" for the show's finale.

Set List
  • "The Thrill"
  • "Simplethings"
  • "Sure Thing"
  • "No Type"
  • "face the sun"
  • "...goingtohell"
  • "Hollywood Dreams"
  • "Girls Like You"
  • "P**** Is Mine"
  • "FLESH"
  • "coffee"
  • "leaves"
  • "waves"
  • "I Get Around"
  • "Quickie"
  • "How Many Drinks?" / "Swimming Pools (Drank)"
  • "Adorn"
[+] read more[-] less

More From R&B/Soul

Lizzo performs during NPR Music's 2017 SXSW Showcase at Stubb's. Adam Kissick for NPR hide caption

toggle caption Adam Kissick for NPR

SXSW Music Festival

Lizzo Was 'Good As Hell' At Our SXSW Showcase

The Texas-born, Minneapolis-based powerhouse Lizzo came with her "Big Girls" to Stubb's this year — and brought a surprising cover song along for the ride.

Gallant (center) collaborates with Korean musicians Tablo (left) and Eric Nam on the new song "Cave Me In." Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist

All Songs TV

Gallant Goes Global In New Song, 'Cave Me In'

The fast-rising R&B singer meets Eric Nam and Tablo, themselves both stars in South Korea, on the nighttime streets of Hong Kong in this new video.

Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles perform live at the Woods Stage at Pickathon 2016. Bruce Ely/Courtesy of Pickathon hide caption

toggle caption Bruce Ely/Courtesy of Pickathon

All Songs TV

Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles, 'Why Don't Cha / Get Up' (Live)

The versatile organist, pianist and synth player, known for his work with Snarky Puppy, performs "Why Don't Cha / Get Up" live at the Woods Stage with his band.

Corinne Bailey Rae in her video for "Hey, I Won't Break Your Heart." Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist

All Songs TV

First Watch: Corinne Bailey Rae, 'Hey, I Won't Break Your Heart'

In her new circus-themed video for a song about rebuilding trust, Rae gazes directly into the camera, challenging our protective masks just as she lets her own guard fall.

Back To Top