Nishant Choksi
Free Press

Richard Russo was awarded the 2002 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction for Empire Falls. His other novels include Mohawk and The Risk Pool. Elena Seibert/Courtesy of Knopf hide caption

itoggle caption Elena Seibert/Courtesy of Knopf
Hulton Archive/Getty Images
Viking Adult
Riverhead Books
Farrar, Straus & Giroux

British author Zadie Smith in 2005. Sergio Dionisio/AP hide caption

itoggle caption Sergio Dionisio/AP