| Back to

Regular Features
Live in Studio 4A
Our showcase for artists invited to perform on the program and talk about their music
The PT 50
Our list of 50 essential classical CDs
Piano Puzzlers
Bruce Adolphe's "name that composer" piano quiz
Live in Studio 4A
Dorian Wind Quintet
Bassoonist Jane Taylor After 40 fruitful years with the Dorian Wind Quintet, founding member bassoonist Jane Taylor has decided that it's time for her to step down. From Studio 4A, PT is honored to present Ms. Taylor's final performance with the renowned wind ensemble.

Selected Program Audio Excerpts

Taylor on retirement
Bassoonist and founding member Jane Taylor reflect on her retirement and on her final concert

The Music

Hoiby: "Greeting" and "Waltz" from Diversions for Wind Quintet
(First Glimpses of Sunlight, Summit DCD 233)

Concerto after Vivaldi

Schifrin: "La Nouvelle Orleans"
commissioned by and for the Dorians

Reicha: Wind Quintet

Bennett/Hoiby: Anniversary Variations on a Theme of Reicha
The Dorians commissioned these variations in celebration of their 40th anniversary season

Dvorák: Quintet in E-flat, Op. 51, Mvt. 1

A farewell surprise for Jane Taylor
from the rest of the group

Related Links

  • Dorian Wind Quintet Discography

    Dorian Wind Quintet Biography

    Since its inception at Tanglewood in 1961, the Dorian Wind Quintet has distinguished itself as one of America's foremost ensembles. The "extraordinary accuracy, homogeneity of ensemble and spirit" (New York Times) that characterizes Dorian's performances prompted TIME Magazine to hail it as "one of chamber music's most sparkling and eloquent ensembles".

    The Quintet has toured 49 of the 50 United States and Canada, Europe, the Middle East, India, Africa, and Asia. In 1981 Dorian became the first wind quintet to appear at Carnegie Hall.

    The Quintet has often collaborated with well-known artists including Lorin Hollander, Ruth Laredo, Beveridge Webster, Jean Casadesus, Lukas Foss, Jean-Pierre Rampal, Claude Frank, Phyllis Bryn-Julson, James Tocco, Lee Hoiby, and Phyllis Curtin, RIchard Ormrod and Billy Childs. The Quintet has appeared at numerous festivals including the INternational Festival in Warsaw, the Stravinsky Festival at Lincoln Center, Caramoor Festival, Newberry Spring Festival in Britain, Stratford Festival in Ontario, San Luis Obispo Festival, New American Music Festival in Sacramento, and was in-residence at Dartington Hall (1984) and Newberry (1990) in England, and Tanglewood (2001).

    The Dorian Wind Quintet has served as the resident ensemble for several institutions including the Mannes College of Music, Brooklyn College and the State University of New York System. DOrian currently serves as Ensemble-in-Residence for Hunter College in New York City, and the Festival Institute at Round Top, TX.

    Dorian has recorded standard and contemporary wind repertoire for Vox, CRI, Serenus, New World, and Summit Records, including George Perle's Quintet IV (Commissioned by Dorian and winner of the 1986 Pulitzer Prize).

    The members of Dorian include Gretchen Pusch, flute; Gerard Reuter, oboe; Jerry Kirkbride, clarinet; Jane Taylor, bassoon; and Nancy Billmann, horn.

    Note: Bassoonist Jane Taylor, a founding member of the Dorian Wind Quintet, will retire from the Quintet in April, 2002. Ethan Bauch has been named her successor.