Browse Topics



After the Plague
T.C. Boyle's Latest Tackles Air Rage and the End of Everything

Listen Listen to Lisa Simeone's interview with offbeat author T.C. Boyle.

Listen Exclusive to NPR: Hear excerpts from T.C. Boyle's interview with Weekend All Things Considered host Lisa Simeone.

T.C. Boyle

T.C. Boyle
Photo: Penguin/Putnam Books

Novels by T.C. Boyle:
Water Music (1982)
Budding Prospects (1984)
World's End (1987 winner of the Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction)
East is East (1990)
The Road to Wellville (1993)
The Tortilla Curtain (1995 winner of France's Prix Medicis Etranger)
Riven Rock (1998)
A Friend of the Earth (2000)

Boyle's short-story collections:
Descent of Man (1979)
Greasy Lake (1985)
If the River Was Whiskey (1989)
Without a Hero (1994)
T.C. Boyle Stories (1998)
After the Plague (2001)

Feb. 17, 2002 -- Abortion, triathletes, air rage, young love, the end of the world... Just a few issues T. Coraghessan Boyle attacks with his signature relish and wit in his new collection of short stories, After the Plague.

Boyle's latest collection of 16 short stories roams through the hearts of people in crisis -- and sometimes in the grip of modern mania. The characters aren't always sympathetic, but maybe that's because they are a little too close to ourselves, a little too imperfect and ironic.

Boyle has a habit of tricking his readers with characters that, in the end, turn out not to be who we thought they were when we started reading. Many authors use the mechanism of the "unreliable narrative," but Boyle is among the best. And in many of his stories, his characters act on their instincts alone -- with unpredictable, and often undesirable, results.

T.C. Boyle was born in 1948 in Peekskill, New York. He was accepted into the Iowa Writer's Workshop in 1972, and he received his doctorate in 19th-century English literature from the University of Iowa in 1977. In 1977, Boyle accepted a teaching position at the University of Southern California, and he still teaches there today.

Boyle was the recipient of the 1999 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. He lives outside of Santa Barbara, California.

Other Resources

Penguin/Putnam Books is the publisher of Boyle's latest collection of short stories, After the Plague