NPR logo Polar Bear Set To Release Fourth Album

Polar Bear Set To Release Fourth Album

No, this isn't about an ursine saxophonist — there's already a book about that — but rather the quintet from London. They're faves 'round these quarters because they take a sort of "weird rock" tack for an improvising band with two tenor saxes and acoustic bass — but with enough structure, groove and beauty to reel in those scared by the word "experimental." Also, their drummer and leader, Seb Rochford, has incredible hair, which has to count for something.

Anyway, Peepers (The Leaf Label) comes out in the U.K. on Mar. 1, the next day in the U.S. I haven't heard the whole thing, but the band has already released two songs out into the ether. The crunchy, spy-movie-beat title track can be heard and downloaded after the jump; the slower "A New Morning Will Come" has an actual music video for it. Director Kira Zhigalina combines footage from old educational videos with some original projections:

After the jump, stream/download the song "Peepers." Also, check out Sebastian Rochford's mixtape of favorite tunes from 2009, with everyone from Buraka Som Sistema and Lightning Bolt to Tyshawn Sorey and Mos Def.

Polar Bear, "Peepers"

Polar Bear - Peepers by theleaflabel

Seb Rochford Mixtape

Seb Rochford (Polar Bear) mixtape by theleaflabel


Related At NPR Music: Polar Bear in a Jazz Now writeup.