Music Articles

NEA Announces 2011 Jazz Masters

The National Endowment of the Arts announced its 2011 Jazz Masters yesterday evening, an honor that comes with an award of $25,000 and a ceremonial concert at Jazz at Lincoln Center. The recipients are flutist Hubert Laws, saxophonist Dave Liebman, composer Johnny Mandel, the musicians of the Marsalis family — Wynton, Branford, Delfeayo, Jason and father Ellis — and record producer Orrin Keepnews. The awards go out annually to living legends of the music; the agency calls it "the nation's highest honor in this distinctly American music." The NEA website has more information. [NEA: 2011 Jazz Masters]

Related At NPR Music: The 2010 NEA Jazz Masters awards ceremony and concert.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor