Music Articles

Bon Iver To Release A New, Self-Titled Album In June

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon i

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon D.L. Anderson/Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption D.L. Anderson/Courtesy of the artist
Bon Iver's Justin Vernon

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon

D.L. Anderson/Courtesy of the artist

The Jagjaguwar label announced today that it'll soon release a long-awaited followup to Bon Iver's incredible 2008 album For Emma, Forever Ago. The new record, due out June 21, is titled simply Bon Iver. We've been listening to it for about a week at NPR Music and can confirm that it's pretty wonderful. The songs take a different direction sonically from For Emma, Forever Ago. It's a broader sound, more textured and not as spare or acoustic, with more synths and electric guitars. Bon Iver's Justin Vernon also uses a little AutoTune, but it's done artfully.

Here's the full track listing:
1. Perth
2. Minnesota, WI
3. Holocene
4. Towers
5. Michicant
6. Hinnom, TX
7. Wash.
8. Calgary
9. Lisbon, OH
10. Beth/Rest

cover art
Gregory Euclide (Artist)

Credits from Jagjaguwar: Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National) helped with arranging and strings, while Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek (who have previously collaborated with Vernon under the Volcano Choir moniker) provided processing. The album also features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple) and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from