NPR logo Eek! A Neutral Milk Hotel Box Set Is Coming, And There Are Unreleased Songs

Eek! A Neutral Milk Hotel Box Set Is Coming, And There Are Unreleased Songs

Neutral Milk Hotel
Courtesy of the artist

Few bands in recent memory have harbored as much mystery as Neutral Milk Hotel, which released a small collection of classic albums about a decade ago and promptly went into hiding. J.D. Salinger comparisons have abounded ever since, lending considerable excitement to reclusive frontman Jeff Mangum's forthcoming fall tour.

A new website for Neutral Milk Hotel has two previously unreleased songs streaming now. It's also announcing the imminent release of a vinyl-only (plus downloadable files) box set with 15 previously unreleased tracks. The collection is due out Nov. 22 and will also include the band's entire body of work — In The Aeroplane Over The Sea, On Avery Island and Everything Is — plus a bonus EP called Ferris Wheel On Fire, which will feature eight previously unreleased acoustic recordings, and two seven-inch records ("Little Birds" and "You've Passed/Where You'll Find Me Now"). You'll also get a seven-inch picture disc with a fold-out poster and two other 24"x24" posters.

The songs now streaming on the site, from a single link, are "Oh Sister" and "Ferris Wheel On Fire," from the bonus EP. "Oh Sister" was recorded in 1995, while "Ferris Wheel On Fire" dates back to 1993.

Article continues after sponsorship

As expected, the site is getting pounded by eager fans right now, so you might have trouble getting through.