2010 Gramophone Award Winners Announced

Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano i

Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano, won the 2010 Gramophone Artist of the Year award. Sheila Rock hide caption

itoggle caption Sheila Rock
Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano

Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano, won the 2010 Gramophone Artist of the Year award.

Sheila Rock

The British classical music magazine Gramophone has announced the winners of the 2010 Gramophone Awards. They are equivalent to the Grammies in England, but just for classical music. And, they are a pretty big deal.

Vocal music raked in the biggest awards. The record of the year went to Andrew Carwood's group, The Cardinall's Musick, for their final edition (13 volumes in all) of music by William Byrd titled Infelix Ego.

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/130321786/130277658" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

William Byrd: "Domine non sum dignus" (The Cardinall's Musick/Andrew Carwood, dir.)

Purchase: Amazon.com / Archive Music

American mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato was the other spotlighted winner. Through an international online poll, she earned the magazine's Artist of the Year award. She was up against some pretty formidable nominees, including Placido Domingo, conductor Antonio Pappano and pianist Lang Lang.

DiDonato's latest recording was a Rossini tribute called Colbran, the Muse.

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/130321786/130277651" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Rossini: "Giusto Ciel" from Maometto II (Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano)

Purchase: Amazon.com / Amazon MP3

Gramophone's panel of critics poured over the thousands of CDs and DVDs that were released over a year's period, argued them down to a short list of 48 and announced the winners last Friday. More than most years, the panel said it was surprised at "the superb range of quality over such a broad range of periods and styles."  Below is a list of the winners:

  • Recording Of The Year: Byrd: Infelix Ego (The Cardinall's Musick/Andrew Carwood, dir.)
  • Artist Of The Year: Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Alfred Brendel, pianist
  • Special Achievement Award: Brian Couzens (founder of the Chandos label)
  • Baroque Instrumental: Vivaldi - "The French Connection" (La Serenissima/Adrian Chandler, dir.)
  • Baroque Vocal: Bach, Lotti, Zelenka - Choral works (Balthasar-Neumann Ens./Thomas Hengelbrock, dir.)
  • Chamber Music: Beethoven - Complete Violin Sonatas (Isabelle Faust, Alexander Melnikov)
  • Choral: Verdi - Requiem (Santa Cecilia Academy/Antonio Pappano, cond.)
  • Concerto: Elgar - Violin Concerto (Thomas Zehetmair/Halle Orchestra/Mark Elder, cond.)
  • Contemporary: Thomas Ades: The Tempest (Royal Opera/Thomas Ades, cond.)
  • DVD Documentary: Leonard Bernstein - Reflections
  • DVD Performance: Purcell - The Fairy Queen (Glyndebourne Opera)
  • Early Music: Byrd - Infelix Ego (The Cardinall's Musick/Andrew Carwood, dir.)
  • Historic Archive: Beethoven - Piano Sonatas (Friedrich Gulda)
  • Historic Reissue: Vladimir Horowitz - Complete Original Jacket Collection
  • Instrumental: Arcadi Volodos - Live from Vienna

  • Opera: Wagner - Gotterdammerung (Halle Orchestra/Mark Elder, cond.)
  • Orchestral: Dvorak - Symphonic Poems (Czech Philharmonic/Charles Mackerras, cond.)
  • Recital: Rossini - Colbran The Muse (Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano)
  • Solo Vocal: Schubert - Winterreise (Mark Padmore, tenor; Paul Lewis, piano)
  • Young Artist Of The Year: Sol Gabetta, cello
  • Label Of The Year: Linn records
  • Editor's Choice Award: Bernstein - Mass (Marin Alsop, cond.)
  • Specialist Classical Chart Award: Andre Rieu Forever Vienna

Featured Artist



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.