On This Day In 1958: Senate Bill Makes Alaska 49th State

June 30, 1958:


The Senate, on a 64-20 vote, passes a bill making Alaska the 49th state of the union. President Eisenhower will sign it into law a week later.

It's the first state added since 1912, when New Mexico and Arizona became Nos. 47 and 48. Hawaii will become the 50th state a year later.

Today in Campaign History is a daily feature on Political Junkie.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from