NPR logo South Carolina GOP Rep. Henry Brown To Retire

South Carolina GOP Rep. Henry Brown To Retire

After a year of nonstop chatter about South Carolina Republicans — think Mark Sanford and Joe Wilson — here's some news about a Palmetto State Republican you may not be familiar with.

Rep. Henry Brown, who was first elected in 2000 representing the eastern part of the state (Charleston/Myrtle Beach) — succeeding Sanford in the process — will announce today he will not seek a sixth term. The scoop was reported this morning by, appropriately, the Palmetto Scoop, a valuable S.C. political blog.

Brown, 74, is a conservative but his habit of aggressively seeking perks for his district has angered some fiscal conservatives, notably Gov. Sanford — at least back when his views mattered. Brown was re-elected in 2008 with just 52 percent of the vote. At least four Republicans had announced their intention to challenge Brown in the June 8 primary, including businessman Carroll Campbell III — son of the late (and beloved) governor.

Another Republican announced his retirement over the Christmas break: Rep. George Radanovich of Califiornia, a strong conservative first elected in 1994. Radanovich cited the health of his wife, who has been suffering from ovarian cancer, for his decision; he immediately endorsed state Sen. Jeff Denham as his successor.

Here's an up-to-date list of House members who will not seek re-election in 2010:


Neil Abercrombie (HI) — running for governor*
Brian Baird (WA) — retiring
Artur Davis (AL) — running for governor
Bart Gordon (TN) — retiring
Paul Hodes (NH) — running for Senate
Kendrick Meek (FL) — running for Senate
Charlie Melancon (LA) — running for Senate
Dennis Moore (KS) — retiring
Joe Sestak (PA) — running for Senate
John Tanner (TN) — retiring
Robert Wexler (FL) — resigning*
*Wexler's resignation to take place in early January 2010, with special election to follow. Abercrombie is also expected to resign his seat, date TBD, to focus entirely on running for governor.


J. Gresham Barrett (SC) — running for governor
Roy Blunt (MO) — running for Senate
Mike Castle (DE) — running for Senate
Nathan Deal (GA) — running for governor
Mary Fallin (OK) — running for governor
Jim Gerlach (PA) — running for governor
Peter Hoekstra (MI) — running for governor
Mark Kirk (IL) — running for Senate
Jerry Moran (KS) — running for Senate
Adam Putnam (FL) — running for state agriculture commissioner
George Radanovich (CA) — retiring
Todd Tiahrt (KS) — running for Senate
Zach Wamp (TN) — running for governor