NPR logo The Last 25 Senate Incumbents Defeated In Primaries (1962-Present)

The Last 25 Senate Incumbents Defeated In Primaries (1962-Present)

With at least four senators this year finding themselves in some degree of difficulty in winning the nomination of their party — Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Arlen Specter (D-PA) and John McCain (R-AZ) — I thought this might be a good time to present a list of all the senators who in the past half-century who lost their primaries (asterisk denotes incumbents who were appointed, not elected):

2006 (1):  Joe Lieberman (D-CT) — lost to Ned Lamont (Lieberman then ran and won as an independent, but he caucuses with Dems).

2002 (1): Bob Smith (R-NH) – lost to John Sununu (GOP retained seat in November).

1996 (1): Sheila Frahm (R-KS)* - lost to Sam Brownback (GOP retained seat).

1992 (1): Alan Dixon (D-IL) – lost to Carol Moseley Braun (Dems retained seat).

1980 (4): Donald Stewart (D-AL) – lost to Jim Folsom Jr. (GOP picked up seat);

Mike Gravel (D-AK) – lost to Clark Gruening (GOP picked up seat);

Dick Stone (D-FL) – lost to Bill Gunter (GOP picked up seat);

Jacob Javits (R-NY) – lost to Al D'Amato (GOP retained seat).

1978 (3): Maryon Allen (D-AL)* - lost to Donald Stewart (Dems retained seat);

Paul Hatfield (D-MT)*; lost to Max Baucus (Dems retained seat);

Clifford Case (R-NJ) – lost to Jeffrey Bell (Dems picked up seat).

1974 (2): J. William Fulbright (D-AR) – lost to Dale Bumpers (Dems retained seat);

Howard Metzenbaum (D-OH)* - lost to John Glenn (Dems retained seat).

1972 (2): David Gambrell (D-GA)* - lost to Sam Nunn (Dems retained seat);

B. Everett Jordan (D-NC) – lost to Nick Galifianakis (GOP picked up seat).

1970 (1): Ralph Yarborough (D-TX) – lost to Lloyd Bentsen (Dems retained seat).

1968 (4): Ernest Gruening (D-AK) – lost to Mike Gravel (Dems retained seat);

Thomas Kuchel (R-CA) – lost to Max Rafferty (Dems picked up seat);

Edward Long (D-MO) – lost to Thomas Eagleton (Dems retained seat);

Frank Lausche (D-OH) – lost to John Gilligan (GOP picked up seat).

1966 (3): Donald Russell (D-SC)* - lost to Ernest Hollings (Dems retained seat);

Ross Bass (D-TN) – lost to Frank Clement (GOP picked up seat);

A. Willis Robertson (D-VA) – lost to William Spong (Dems retained seat).

1964 (1): J. Howard Edmondson (D-OK)* – lost to Fred Harris (Dems retained seat).

1962 (1): Maurice Murphy (R-NH)* - lost to Perkins Bass (Dems picked up seat).

We no longer support commenting on stories, but you can find us every day on Facebook, Twitter, email, and many other platforms. Learn more or contact us.