NPR logo New Gov. Nominees: Daugaard (R-SD), Sheheen (D-SC); S.C. GOP To Runoff

Election 2010

New Gov. Nominees: Daugaard (R-SD), Sheheen (D-SC); S.C. GOP To Runoff

Nikki Haley button

Haley, the subject of scandal allegations, advances to a June 22 runoff in S.C. hide caption

toggle caption

In South Carolina, where GOP Gov. Mark Sanford is term-limited, state Sen. Vincent Sheheen has won the Democratic primary.  The four-way Republican contest is unsettled and will be decided in a June 22 runoff between state Rep. Nikki Haley, who led but failed to break the 50 percent threshold, and Congressman Gresham Barrett.

The Republican gubernatorial primary in South Dakota has been won by Lt. Gov. Dennis Daugaard, who will face Democratic nominee Scott Heidepriem in November.  Gov. Mike Rounds (R) is term-limited.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.